A Street Car Named Desire

Happy Birthday, Stella!!!

Ok, so that has nothing to do with birthday’s, but it does have a young Marlon Brando with a ripped shirt, covered in water and yelling your name so that has to count for something, right?

So, what can I say about you?

My earliest memory (or more like earliest story of sisterly love passed down to me from mom because I was too little to actually “remember” it) of you is getting a baby-sized concussion from your throwing a yellow plastic hammer at my head. “Baby play?” Remember that? Uh huh…I see that smile. In my brain-damaged head anyway. If anyone ever asks you why your sister is so crazy, you can tell them the above story 🙂 It’s all your fault!

What about the time we kept that poor mouse in my lunch box and tried to feed it grass everyday only to become distraught that it wouldn’t eat? That might have had something to do with the fact that it was dead, but ya know…whatever – when your first pet dies, that hurts!! And apparently, it still hurts even if the pet was dead before it graduated from “damn rodent” to “pet” in the first place.

After we grew passed our pet cemetary stages, we hit the “constantly arguing” stage.

And that lasted well into our  adolescence! Ya know, I kinda miss fighting with you because it was all about trivial stuff like the remote, the phone, whether or not it rains in the summer, whether or not every person in the world has germs, whose turn it was to do the dishes and why mom put my clothes in your room and vice versa. It’s so much better than fighting with people after you become an adult because then you have to be all grown-up and mature about it and even then, you never know how those fights will end. Fights between sisters are easy to predict: one of you ends up with the phone while the other ends up missing a chunk of hair and then you bond all over again as your sister sprays “hair in a can” over your offending bald spot before school and all is right in the world!

(Until you start fighting over the remote…then whoever didn’t lose their hair last time should really protect their head.)

All joking aside, I love you, Stella! 🙂 You’re the best sister I could have asked for, assuming I had the good sense to ask for one in the first place. All that bickering did us some good. We got it out of our system so we could get along so well now!!

So now I’m going to share some “Reasons Why Stella is Spiffy!”

1.) Your name is Stella.

2.) And Marlon Brando screamed it!

3.) You remind me of grandmaw.

4.) You are the only woman I know (aside from Grandmaw) who can be all groomed and girly one minute and spitting fourteen feet while talking about your constipation the next minute.

5.) You are full of surprises! ^See above^

6.) You’re very blunt with people, which is sometimes refreshing and often hilarious!

7.) You have the best facial expressions…sometimes I say weird things just to see them. Seriously…I do.

8.) If Gene Simmons’ tongue had a baby, your tongue would be it. That is all I’m going to say about that freakishness…

9.) You can play Poker better than some men I know. (And absolutely better than me!)

10.) You’re a fantastic wonderifical mother and I adore my nephews. It’s because of you (and Daniel) that they aren’t heathens like so many kids seem to be now-a-days.

11.) I love that you’re a teacher. It suits you so well!!

12.) I love envy (okay, fine…) love your eyes! So pretty!!

13.) I admire the way you always try to do the right thing no matter how hard it is.

14.) Your macaroni & cheese. Yes, that actually made it to the Spiffy Stella list.

I would love to add more to this, but I see I only have 13% battery power left on my laptop so I figured I better wrap this up. You, my dear, are awesome and I hope you have a fabulous day!

Everyone else, feel free to leave some love for my beautiful sis! 🙂

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Street Car Named Desire

  1. Happy Birthday my beautiful daughter!! I am so very proud of you. I have honestly have no words that could ever begin to tell you much I love you and exactly how proud I am of you. Your baby sis has done a wonderful job with putting into words how we all feel about you. However, I would like to clarify one tiny little tidbit of information. – I do not now know nor have I ever known Gene Simmons!! So your tongue is no way related. Happy Birthday!!

  2. Pingback: Scooby Doo, Business & Temporary (or not) Male Idiocy « bethylicious

  3. Thank you Bethy, I love the blog! Although you could have left some things out…. lol. You know what I mean too. lol. Well I just want to say that you mean the world to me and I am so lucky, no, blessed to have you as my sister as well! I miss you sis and I love you so much!!!!!!!! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Things That Make Me Scream « bethylicious

Leave a Reply

