It Took Me An Hour To Write This

It’s 12:18am and I just got done reading the last book in the Hunger Games trilogy. There’s no reason why I’m writing about it other than that there is no way I could go to sleep yet. I HAVE to talk about it first. I’m a female after all..don’t we kinda have to talk about everything? Or at the very least type nonsense about it and leave it up to the rest of you to decide whether you care enough to read it. Chances are, if you’ve read the books then you’re sticking around to read this. If you have not read the books, but want to, you’ll probably stick around then, too. If you haven’t read them and have no desire to then, surely, you didn’t even make it to this sentence. Either way, I’m continuing in my late night rambling.

I love to read and get lost in a good book. I’ve read a lot of books. Most of them are fiction so don’t start thinking I’m some highly educated person who likes books written in an old English language I could never hope to understand. I like Shakespeare, sure, but only after it was translated to me line by line by my 12th grade lit. teacher. If I tried to read and decode it on my own, I’d probably misinterpret the vast majority of it if it weren’t for the fact that almost everyone knows how all his stories end already without having read them. My point is that I like the feeling of being transported to a different time and place. A ficitonal one – because honestly, I live in the real world enough. When I’m reading, I don’t want real; I want fantasy. And pardon me if all the books I like are categorized under ‘young adult’…don’t judge me.

My favorite books are, not surprisingly, the Harry Potter series. I like Twilight despite the fact that it has sparkling vampires, Bella has no personality and that Edward acts more like a control-freak father than a boyfriend. I’ve read the Mortal Instruments series and enjoyed it, too, though now I can’t remember a whole lot of what happened in those because I devoured them so quickly I failed to retain any details that weren’t absolutely pertinent to the core plot in the stories. I’ve read the Vampire Diaries books and have ascertained that this was several hours of my life wasted that I can never get back. I’m unbelieveably thankful to Kevin Williamson & Julie Plec who managed to save the sorry excuse for story-telling that the books were and turn them into something incredibly addicting in the show.

I’ve read the Vampire Academy series and the House of Night series. Liked the first very much and look forward to re-reading them in the future…can’t say much for the 2nd as I couldn’t get passed the bad writing and the fact that the 15 year old main character has about 5+ love interests within a 2 month period that spans across several books. I don’t usually abandon a series once I start it (even if I HATE it), but The House of Night was one that I don’t care to pick back up again. I care even less about how it ends than I do the Vampire Diaries books and I can’t read more than 2 pages of those without yawning or screaming into a pillow at the stupidity of it all. The point is that as much as I hate the VD books, I still buy them (to finish my collection) and read them (albeit slowly) because I care just enough about them Damon to want to know how it ends and also because I like making comparisons to the show. I would buy the House of Night books just to use them to build a campfire for my kids in the summer if I weren’t so concerned about the waste of money that would be.

I say all that to get to this; in all those books, love them or hate them, there is always at least one thing that I can point out that I wish would have been done differently or an ending that I take some sort of issue with. That’s not to say that all books should end the way I want them to or that I don’t absolutely love them just the way they are, but there’s always that one thing that I can honestly say “I wish _________ would have happened instead” or “but why did __________ happen?” And if neither of those is the case the only other issue I have is feeling empty after I’ve finished a particularly good book or series. Like it can’t end and I’m left needing more of it, which is an incredible feat for an author, but is a sort of hell for a reader.

That is not the case at all with the Hungar Games.

It is the first series I’ve ever read that I felt completely satisfied at the end. It was PERFECT. Not that I wouldn’t love to read more of them, but I feel like there is definite closure at the end of the 3rd one and it’s not of the “and they lived happily ever after” variety or an ending so sad that you feel like it was a waste to read the book. It’s a perfect balance of fantasy with just enough realism to it to make it totally believable and satisfying.

I kept thinking I would be able to predict certain things in the books and everytime I thought a certain thing would happen, there would be a great twist that would totally throw me off, which is a good thing because it kept me reading. (It took me a day to read each book. 3 days total to finish the series. I have 3 children, a husband, a job, voice lessons & band practices so just take a moment to let it sink in….you should see the state of neglect my house is currently in.) That’s why I like the Vampire Diaries (show) so much. It’s good writing. Everytime we think we can predict something in the show, the writers throw us a curve ball and something we never expected happens. That’s exactly how this book is. I had been predicting (or at the very least, hoping for) something throughout the whole series, but after having several of my predictions proven wrong or twisted a bit from what I envisioned, I finally gave up on the biggest prediction that I made for the book only to find out in the last two pages that I was finally right about something. And it was sweeter than I could ever have imagined because

A.) I had already given up on it happening & B.) because it didn’t happen the way I thought it would; it was even better.

Now I am going to go put on my Captain Obvious suit (complete with cape!) and say one more (very anti-climatic & redundant) thing:

I highly recommend the Hunger Games trilogy.

Now that I’ve gotten all that out of my system, I think I can finally go to sleep now 🙂

11 thoughts on “It Took Me An Hour To Write This

  1. Thanks for writing this! An avid reader, I hadn’t heard of this series until I saw the posters go up for the film of the same name. Since then I’ve been intrigued.

    You’ve sealed my Sunday’s occupation for me, so thanks! : )

    ps I love all the series’ you’ve named here but you left one out. Have you read John Marsden’s ‘Tomorrow’ series? If the answer is no, you need to remedy this situation as soon as possible. For serious.

    Michelle
    http://www.theyeariquitmylife.com

      • It’s an Australian series, there are seven books. It’s about a group of teenagers who go camping in the bush for the weekend and when they come back, discover that their home has been invaded. The books are about their life on the run and their survival.

        My copies are falling apart, I’ve read them so much! They’re better than the HP series, I think.

        In a past life I was a teacher, and I read the first book of the series to my year ten boys’ literacy class over the course of the first term. It turned their behaviour completely around; they’d stay in after the lunch bell to catch the end of the chapter! And when a new male teacher joined our staff room at the end of the year and they noticed him walking past our classroom door, they got all excited, thinking (for some strange and unknown reason) that it was John Marsden, the author, come to say hello. It was adorable and so hard to tell them that it was just a regular teacher type! : )

      • Oh you’ll know if I really enjoy it because it will undoubtedly end up in my blog. Thank you for the recommendation. I’m girlishly excited about reading a book…I’m such a nerd, lol. I hope my kids inherit that. (They’ll curse me when they’re teenagers for saying such awful things, I’m sure.)

      • It’s an Australian series, there are seven books. It’s about a group of teenagers who go camping in the bush for the weekend and when they come back, discover that their home has been invaded. The books are about their life on the run and their survival.

        My copies are falling apart, I’ve read them so much! They’re better than the HP series, I think.

        In a past life I was a teacher, and I read the first book of the series to my year ten boys’ literacy class over the course of the first term. It turned their behaviour completely around; they’d stay in after the lunch bell to catch the end of the chapter! And when a new male teacher joined our staff room at the end of the year and they noticed him walking past our classroom door, they got all excited, thinking (for some strange and unknown reason) that it was John Marsden, the author, come to say hello. It was adorable and so hard to tell them that it was just a regular teacher type! : )

  2. Great reviews. I can’t wait to show this to son…who loves these books and Harry Potter and many others like these kind of books.
    Ever thought about doing book reviews on Amazon or other places. You write them really well. 😉

Leave a Reply

