Roll A Big FAT One. Yeah, I said it.

Good Morning Readers & Fellow Bloggers!
I had a thought this morning while taking the kids to school. It’s okay to let that sentence send a little sliver of fear down your spine – I’m used to it.
Better now?
Good.
So I always have the radio on in my car. It doesn’t matter if we’re taking a long trip or going five minutes down the road, I always have music playing. I don’t really listen to morning shows so I switch the dials until I find something that makes my ears happy.
Today, I came across the radio-edit version of The Zac Brown Band’s song “Toes.” Love the band, love that song…ears are instantly happy.

But, I have a question concerning the interesting stupid censorship choice made in a particular lyric.

“I’m gonna lay in the hot sun and roll a big (bleep) one…”

The word they bleep is “fat.” FAT?! Out of all the possibilities they think our kids need to be shielded from the word fat?

Now, who in the world is in charge of deciding what words get censored? Because whoever it is needs to reevaluate that particular choice.

First, let me just drive home to everyone that radio edits come into play when one wants to shield innocent ears from drug, violence and sexual references. I totally get that. What I don’t get is why they chose to bleep the word “fat” if what they wanted to censor was a drug reference. Because even without that word in it the lyric is still “I’m gonna lay in the hot sun and roll a big one.” HOW is that not still clearly a drug reference?!?

If they were smart – which we’ve already established they’re not – they would have bleeped the word “roll” or the whole line or asked the band to write another lyric to fit that spot for radio rotation. Otherwise there’s just no point to censoring.

Honestly, I don’t care if they don’t censor because I personally would opt to either change the station if I didn’t want my kids to hear it or else actually discuss censor-worthy issues with them instead of trying to protect them from everything but that’s a totally different blog post.

But “fat?” Really?
I had to laugh out loud in the car and the kids got out at school probably thinking their mom had just gotten through rolling herself a big one. Censor that.

One thought on “Roll A Big FAT One. Yeah, I said it.

Leave a Reply

