Vampires, Werewolves & Pants, Oh My!

I’m ecstatic to say that I got to go to The Vampire Diaries Eyecon for the whole weekend from Oct. 31st – Nov. 2nd! This is the first time I’ve gotten to enjoy the parties, the banquet, the contests, etc. so now I see what the big deal is. I even told my hubs that once I was able to do all that, I wouldn’t need to go again.

83206ae67da70662c246b9cca0b92d2da77cae199a14e8d23e102739d5192b2e

I shouldn’t have said that. I want to go again. And again. And again and again and again as long as they keep having them. That probably isn’t financially feasible, but don’t stomp on a girl’s dreams, m’kay?

If you’re interested in hearing about the con, seeing pictures, videos and extremely good-looking men in extremely well-worn, tight pants…just keep on readin’! Otherwise, feel free to move along.

Confessions first y’all; I didn’t want to go at first. I got my tickets thinking/hoping/praying these guys would be there:

Ian-Paul-paul-wesley-and-ian-somerhalder-32659593-500-333
Haha…just kidding.
Unknown
Much better photo, right?

Or any of these would have been awesome as well.

claire-holt-daniel-gillies-elijah-elijah-mikaelson-Favim.com-1740407
If you watch The Vampire Diaries or The Originals, none of these people need introducing.

a493755aeaa9b46745e13f28d8da94bf e108a0dd9ff5864de01d0668b94ae3e2 The Vampire Diaries Ladies

Unfortunately, we didn’t get most of those. Instead we got:

Steven R. McQueen
Steven R. McQueen who plays Jeremy Gilbert on TVD
Steven McQueen (actor) & his brother Jessarae (musician)
Steven McQueen (actor) & his brother Jessarae (musician)
Jessarae's drummer, Lee Madeloni
Jessarae’s drummer, Lee Madeloni
Zach Roerig, who plays Matt Donovan on TVD
Zach Roerig, who plays Matt Donovan on TVD
Michael Trevino, who plays Tyler on TVD
Michael Trevino, who plays Tyler on TVD
Matt Davis, who plays Alaric on TVD
Matt Davis, who plays Alaric on TVD
Michael Malarky, who plays Enzo on TVD
Michael Malarky, who plays Enzo on TVD. If you haven’t discovered Michael Malarkey’s Feed The Flames EP, you need to. Everything’s Burned is my personal favorite track on the album and yeah, it’s a little weird, but that’s what I like about it. I’ll be talking more about this in a future post so I won’t bombard you with details now. Just suffice it to say I’m a fan of Michael now rather than just a fan of the character he plays on TV.
Kendrick Sampson, who played Jesse for 5 episodes in S5 in TVD
Kendrick Sampson, who played Jesse for 5 episodes in S5 in TVD

If you’re a fan of Chase or Kendrick, you should check out this article about their Q&A panel. I didn’t get videos of it and this details most of what they talked about. I was really impressed with Kendrick as a person. One thing he said that really stuck out for me was about how he can’t go a day without his bible. In the industry he’s in, I would imagine that sometimes it’s hard to maintain a balance between his values & what he has to do to earn a living. I personally don’t walk around everywhere with a bible, but I think it’s amazing and commendable that he believes in something strongly enough to carry it around with him and not let anyone or anything shake his faith. 🙂

Paul Telfer, who played a hunter on TVD
Paul Telfer, who played a hunter on TVD
Chase Coleman, who plays Oliver on The Originals
Chase Coleman, who plays Oliver on The Originals
Felicia Lester, who plays on The Originals
Felicia Lester, who plays on The Originals

MV5BMjI4ODE0MTUzNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjk0NzUwOA@@._V1_SX214_CR0,0,214,317_AL_& last but not least, Joshua Butler, who has directed several epic episodes of TVD.

 

I thought I wasn’t going to have as much fun if my second husband Ian wasn’t there (or Paul, or any of the leading ladies) but I was WRONG. I think I actually had MORE fun. The crowd wasn’t as big and chaotic, the people were so nice, we got to spend more time with the people who were there and I got to meet a group of great people that I wouldn’t have known were so great if I had been focused on the main characters the whole time. As a bonus, I was able to retain possession of my brain cells the entire time as well. When it comes to Ian I practically forget my name so I was glad to save myself that embarrassment.

I even left with some new favorites!

– I adore Chase Coleman who plays Oliver on The Originals. Not a big fan of his character (yet) but as a person, Chase seems really easy-going and tons of fun based on the few times I got the pleasure of talking with him. Plus, he can rock sparkly second-skin pants like nobody’s business.

Chase Coleman as Stacee Jaxx, Halloween night.
Chase Coleman as Stacee Jaxx, Halloween night.

Some people thought he was Brett Michaels though so…maybe I’m wrong? Either way, Saturday night he sang Rock of Ages at karaoke, which I heard was epic and I’m really mad that I missed it. I’m just waiting for a YouTube video. In my search for one, I found this little remake of a scene from the movie…it made me giggle. 🙂

And even though this isn’t the video from Atlanta, this is basically what we did whenever Chase was around. That, and swoon. I hope he comes back to future cons.

– I didn’t actually meet Felicia Lester, but we did exchange a rather enthusiastic “hey, I love your hair! Thanks! You, too!” 🙂

Matt Davis even told me he loved my hair right before we took this picture:

Sorry, this is a picture of a picture and not the whole thing, but you can see my purple hair a little bit which is what Matt commented on. My genius response? "And I love you!" Like he hasn't heard that eleventy billion times. Lol
Sorry, this is a picture of a picture and not the whole thing, but you can see my purple hair a little bit which is what Matt commented on. My genius response? “And I love you!” Like he hasn’t heard that eleventy billion times. Lol

Also, I hate my face. :/

I got this photo signed and he was such a sweetheart. He had to leave right after the autograph session so he didn’t go to any of the parties which was unfortunate, but at least I have this. 😀

I also have these:

Michael Malarkey (who I've loved as Enzo from day one, but now I just love him period. Such a cool person!)
Michael Malarkey (who I’ve loved as Enzo from day one, but now I just love him period. Such a cool person!)
10801984_10152822222164845_7795541512771305644_n
This is the lovely group of people I got to attend the Saturday night banquet with. We sat at a table with Jessarae and his drummer, Lee Madeloni. They’re both incredibly cool people.

At one point, Lee asked me if I was a musician. I don’t know how he discerned that, but I told him, no and that I just like to sing. Then he and Jessarae totally put me on the spot and asked me to sing and I stupidly missed my opportunity to do so by blanking out on songs I knew lol. I’m just going to YouTube it and send it to them from the safety of my home because I’m a giant chicken.

Zach Reorig (Matt Donovan on TVD). He's such a funny guy. And so much more good-looking in person. Matt just does not get enough love.
Zach Reorig (Matt Donovan on TVD). He’s such a funny guy. And so much more good-looking in person. Matt just does not get enough love.

ninadobrev-twitter-mysticfalls

10408938_10152816751449845_812703058539984398_n
Michael Trevino (Tyler Lockwood). He seemed a little reserved at the convention, but I can’t imagine what it’s like to be constantly bombarded with people wanting to talk to you and touch you, etc. etc. all the time. Must be exhausting. And I got a smile out of him so you won’t see me complaining 😀
559518_10152816750509845_739563452194050819_n
LOVE this guy!! Steven R. McQueen (Jeremy Gilbert). He is SO funny. I talked to him a few times and I adore him. He definitely knows how to break up the monotony during the Q & A sessions. There are very few awkward silences when he’s around. He seems considerably more approachable than almost everyone else as well, which was nice because I have my shy moments (despite some of my friends thinking I don’t have a shy bone in my body) & it was nice not to feel that with him.

I also took a horrible selfie with his brother, but I don’t even care that it’s horrible because Jessarae is one of the coolest people I met at the con. I’m kicking myself for not getting a selfie with his drummer, Lee, though. He’s awesome and kinda looks like he could be related to Johnny Depp which…you know…is a bonus.

IMG_6677 IMG_6678

I have a ton of videos and instead of talking your ear off about everything, you can just visit my YouTube Channel HERE if you’re interested in seeing them. Make sure to check out the Michael Malarkey videos; he’s such a cool guy! In a nutshell though, I had a fantastic time, everyone was amazing, I want to go back next year & I HAVE to do karaoke. I have a year to think of an epic karaoke song to perform…suggestions?

 

Leave a Reply

