If This Doesn’t Make You Happy You Have No Soul

30-day-blogging-challenge

Is it just me or does this challenge seem exceptionally long? I know 30 days is 30 days, but I feel like I’ve been doing this forever. Maybe that’s because I’ve never completed a challenge before and this is sort of a record for me. πŸ˜›

Today is Day 20: What makes you happy?

Full disclosure: I’m really sick of talking about myself. I have to finish this though so…onward!

Lots of things make me happy. The obvious answers would be my kids, my husband, my family, my dog; but I think I can do a little better than the obvious answers. Not that there’s anything better than those things, but I just know those are pretty typical and I find happiness in a lot of smaller things, too.

My birthdays make me happy. Yes, I’m aware that I just turned 31 and that there is a bit of a stereo-type about women and their age, but birthdays genuinely make me happy. I feel blessed to have survived another year & to be able to enjoy a new one, plus I’m really looking forward to being 80 so I can say whatever I want and people will just be like, “she is so adorable” or “ignore her, she says inappropriate stuff all the time…I think it’s the dementia.” And then I can come back with something tenacious which proves I’m as sharp as ever & everyone will tell stories about it after I die.

Animals of all kinds make me happy. If this doesn’t make you happy then you have no soul:

These shoes I painted make me happy!

15665469_10154638270074845_8176859130380332506_n

Harry Potter makes me very happy. We will be visiting Hogwarts at Universal this month & I can hardly wait!!! πŸ˜€

Sunshine makes me exceptionally happy. A lack of sunlight (or even light in general) is just a recipe for depression so I like to be outside as much as possible. The trouble comes during the winter months when the cold makes me want to retreat indoors. Another reason why I love Florida so much. We’ve probably had a total of 4 cold daysΒ of the variety that make me want to stay indoors & about 3 that were just cold enough to make one want to limit the amount of time out of the house. It’s been really good for my mental health.

I love Supernatural, Damon Salvatore, books, the beach, long walks, sunsets, palm trees, rainbows, glitter, unicorns, yoga, butter cake with chocolate frosting, tattoos, red velvet cake, blue jeans, yoga pants, workout clothes, watercolors, painting, singing, music, making lists, painting dishes (& shoes), my Etsy shop, writing, photography, long drives, curvy backroads, speeding, the occasional curse word, the sound of my kids laughing, dying my hair, Olive Garden…the list goes on. Moral of this post? Enjoy the small things.Β 

What makes you happy?

 

Leave a Reply

